I just followed my heart and I ended up at concerts and Korea

I started fangirling to Super Junior around 2008 or 2009 and I was just a 4th year HS (Grade 10 ) student back then. During those times, KPOP concerts in the Philippines were near to impossible (actually even in other countries) so I had one goal – go to Korea find Super Junior.

But as hallyu spread outside Korea in 2010, new groups emerge and KPOP concerts started to be conducted in other countries including the Philippines. But I had no means to attend those concerts since most of the time they are done in Manila and that Manila is 2 hours away from my province and even if I had enough money I was pretty sure my parents won’t allow the young me to go. Yes, the typical fangirl problem. (That’s why I envy those kids today who are actually allowed by their parents to go to concerts.) College came and I literally had a hard time. School works became too demanding to the point that I had to give up ‘fangirling’. I still listen from time to time but I was not as updated as before especially towards the end of college and before the our board exams.  I would hear that Super Junior, 2ne1, Big Bang and other KPOP artists would come to the Philippines and have a concert and I could do nothing but study. So fast forward after finishing school and passing the board exams, I said to myself that I would just follow my heart do what makes me happy because why not? I deserve to be happy. Six months after being hired, it was announced that One Direction will be coming to the Philippines (not a KPOP group but I fangirled to them too) and I decided that I will watch them live no matter what!

March 21, 2015, OTRA Manila my first ever concert and it was one of the happiest day of my life. I felt that despite the struggle of getting the tickets and the price of the concert itself, it was all worth it. After that, I become a ‘regular’ concert goer.

Concerts I have attended include:

July 30, 2015 – Big Bang MADE in Manila

March 12, 2016 – 5sos’ Sounds Live Feels Live in Manila

June 24, 2016 – MTV Music Evo Manila with One Republic, APINK, Bebe Rexha, Far East Movement, JaDine and Gary ft. Gab Valenciano

July 30, 2016 – BTS’ Epilogue in Manila

And to my surprise, I never expected this, I was also able to attend MAMA 2016 in Hong Kong last December 2, 2016. I have never seen so many KPOP stars live in an event and that was so daebak. I saw NCT, Sf9, IOI (blessed to see them before they formally disbanded), Taemin of Shinee, GFRIEND, SEVENTEEN, Suzy, Zico, Dean, Crush, MONSTA X, GOT7, Lee Juck, Ko Sang Ji, TWICE, Eric Nam, BTS, BeWhy, Taeyon, Ailee, and EXO plus western artists like Gallant, Timbaland and Wiz Khalifa. There were also korean actors. Special mention to Park Bogum! Plus seeing one of my bias group win Daesang live was such an experience.

March 2, 2017 – One K Global Peace Concert with PSY, Shinee, CNBLue, B1A4, BAP, BTOB and AOA.

May 7, 2017 – BTS’ Wings Tour in Manila

I really wish I could watch more. I am personally looking forward to SEVENTEEN’s Diamond Edge Tour and G Dragon’s <ACT III, M.O.T.T.E> but I’m not sure if I could watch any of them.

In between those concerts, I was able to fulfill another fangirl goal of mine – go to Korea! Last September 2016, I was able to celebrate my birthday with bestfriend in South Korea!

095

Just like what I said on the title, I just really followed my heart and I looking back I didn’t realized that I had accomplish so much “fangirl goals”. I don’t know what I did in my past life to deserve this but it just happened. After all the sacrifice at school, I am really happy that I could finally do things I love.

My goal now is to write about my experiences and to share tips on how achieve your own fangirl goals. Nothing is really impossible as long as you put your heart on it and believing that there will be perfect timing for everything!

Leave a Reply

